Bay Country (Maryland Paperback Bookshelf)

Bay Country (Maryland Paperback Bookshelf)

  • Publish Date: 1994-02-01
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Tom Horton
Regular price $44.42 Sale price $21.72

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots . --Baltimore Magazine. Mr. Horton -- a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following -- ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings . -- New York Times Book Review. Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken . . . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book . -- Washington Post. Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

Customer Reviews