She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

  • Publish Date: 2012-01-31
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Helen Castor
Regular price $34.54 Sale price $16.79

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding. Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all oddsand one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other she-wolves, as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how muchand how littlehas changed through the centuries.

Customer Reviews